With its spectacular ocean views, St James Seaforth is set above the coastal road that wends its way through St James en route to Cape Point. It is a destination paradise for a wide variety of reasons: its spectacular ocean views, large stretches of public beach, unique natural setting, mild ocean climate, outdoor activities, year-round events and bespoke shopping.
Seaforth House was originally a four-bedroom thatch residence built by a Mr William Mortimer Farmer in 1877. Built further back from its present position, it passed through several hands, the last being Bridget O’Callaghan who renamed it Kilcreen House after her birthplace in Ireland. In 1939, tragedy struck and the historic old home was gutted by fire and reduced to ashes. In 1940, Sophia Walker rebuilt it as a new double-storey but further forward towards the Main Road. It again passed through several hands with the longest occupants being the Meikles family of Rhodesia. Rovos Rail took ownership in 2010.